“Bizcochitosss”

Hola familia!!  Happy Fourth of July!  I celebrated fourth of July by trying to remember how the ovens work back home.  It was great celebration.  I’m serving here in Rio Gallegos with Elder Rice and we always talk about California greatness.  But we can’t really remember how the ovens work.  A little counsel on that would be greatly appreciated. 

The life in the mission is going GREAT.  This week there were a bunch of missionaries who got stuck in Gallegos on the way to Ushuia.  So they had to bunk with us.  It was so great!  Hermana Fish stayed with me for two days and we did some clothing trades and found a bunch of new investigators.  We also had help from some other hermanas too, Herman Velazquez, Hermana Robbins, and Hermana Estibarribia (or something like that).  They were all such troopers and helped us out a ton!  This week we were able to teach 30 lessons and find 14 new investigators!  It was seriously a week of miracles.  I learned so many things being with different companions.. somethings I liked and others I didn’t, but all things very valuable.  Remember when I said I wanted to be more like Abinidi and speak without fear?  Well Hermana E is fearless.  So fearless that I was nervous about what she was going to say!  She tried to put a baptismal date and the woman wouldn’t accept it.  She said, Do you want to get baptized someday?” And the woman replied yes… and the Hermana E said, “Well I hope you don’t wait too long!” haha.  Super gutsy, but I really liked seeing how other missionaries work. 
Good news this week is that Matias is progressing super well!  He’s just like Argentino from Caleta… he talks and talks and talks but, he appreciates the organization of the church despite some of the shocking experiences he’s had in coming to our branch.  Something that called my attention is that he said we were the first congregation that talked more about the responsibility than the power.  I hope I can live up to my calling and fulfill the responsibility.  During church he was able to receive a priesthood blessing and say the closing prayer!  He said that he really enjoyed it.  Keep him in your prayers so that all goes well for his baptismal date July 19th!
The Lord is blessing us with so many miracles.  I’m  so grateful for the diligence of my companion and how she helps me keep the work going.  The 3rd transfer in an area is pretty tough, but I can see how there is so much work to be done!  I hope I can help this area make the changes it needs before i leave.  This area has helped me grow so much, for that I am super grateful.  Heres to another transfer of growth. 
This week, as we were finding so many new and prepared people, I felt the spirit so strong to testify of the truthfulness of this gospel.  That Jesus really is the Savior of the world and that Joseph Smith is a prophet of God and that the Church of Jesus Christ has been restored here on earth in these last days.  All these things are the strongest evidences that my Heavenly Father loves me and these people!  I have no doubt in my mind that it is true.
I love you all oh so much!  You are just too tan and beautiful to look at!
I’m sending a picture of one the greatest miracles that have happened here in Gallegos.  Do you remember when I talked about when we went contacting and we knocked on a door and found an inactive who was going through a hard time.  She started crying just at the sight of us at the doorstep.  Well that is Soledad and she has been inactive for 14 years.  She has now been to church 3 times and her mom twice!  Super miraculous… and very prepared.  I love them so much!
Take care!
Hermana Carter
Soedad and mother

Soedad and mother

Leave a Reply

