“feliz nieve”

Well this week has been super crazy! Lots of plans changing and stuff but still… it was good week. 

It all started with Monday with 3 scheduled appointments and all of them fell through but one.
It was with Matias.  Matias is 18 years old and started to study to be a lawyer this year.  He is in some what of a religious search.  He talks very eloquently (big words) and tells us every detail of the response possible!  Therefore, I don’t understand him very well.  We were able to teach him about the Restoration and give him a Book of Mormon.  He looked at this book with such intent I knew it meant a lot to him.  Turns out his uncle was a member of the Church and he always looked at that book, but never opened it.  He was very committed to read and understand this book!  He’s golden!  We went Sunday night for a followup appointment and he told us that he had read and that he loves the idea that the Book of Mormon originates from people here in America.  He related a lot with being American and knowing that the Lord lead his children in this part of the country as well.  Matias.  He’s super capo.
Also this week I went to my first leadership meeting in Comodoro!  Haha! I felt really important and kind of nervous and I knew that some sort of hazing was going to happen.  I could feel it in my bones.  After a twelve hour bus ride, we arrived at the offices at 9 and I had to go the bathroom sooo bad.  I went to the bathroom and when I came out they had all started.  I was like “great now I have to walk in and everyone is going to look at me and know that’s the sister who’s new..” haha!  I walked in during the hymn and we had a prayer and then there was a huge silence.  Turns out they had announced while I was in the bathroom that I would lead the mission modo, but I didn’t know.  I got up all blushed and lead the modo….. The spirit told me that I was going to suffer in my first meeting with the capos!  I’m just a little bit stronger after this experience. 
It’s snowed this week!  First snow of winter… wait it’s Fall.  The coolest part about the snow is that a lot of the sister and elders are from countries that don’t have snow.  Elder Velazquez from Columbia looked like a little kid on Christmas seeing the snow for the FIRST TIME!  It’s not quite so magical for me but it’s chill.  haha! 
With all the travel we lost almost 3 days of the week!  It was a struggle getting the work going mid week.  However we were able to pull some going lessons with members and contacts.
We’re working really hard with Angelica and Carlos.  Angelica came to church last week and sadly she had to participate in a welfare training that was lacking in the spiritual side of the lesson.  She didn’t like it and admitted to us that she wanted to leave, but stayed to not offend us:( I was a little frustrated with the members here, who forget how to be reverent and treat ALL things of the church with respect.  However I often forget that the church is so small and weak and new here and sometimes they don’t really know how things should function.  I had to forgive them, but know we have to pray that Angelica’s mind gets wiped from her experience so she can get baptized! I just want one of those things from men in black.. sigh.)
Well, that’s my week!  I’m so happy for Colby and Starlee!  (I love her dress) I got my packages!!!  I loved them so much!  Thanks so much for loving and caring for me!  My family and friends are the best!  I shared my Juicy Fruit gum with the missionaries and they were asking me what the flavor was.. I have no idea how to explain the deliciousness of Juicy Fruit.  It’s just Juicy Fruit!  haha!!!!
I love you all oh so much!  Take care of yourselves (mom)!
(How white can a missionaries skin get?  Just look at these photos!)
Hermana Carter

DSC00386 DSC00385

"Peeps"

“Peeps”

Leave a Reply

