“feliz dia mamá”

Happy Mothers Day to all the wonderful mothers out there!

I hope all those you serve paid a little something back, because you deserve it!  And to the best mom ever!  Thanks for always being such a wonderful example to me of obedience and hard work. Of all the things I think you’ve given me, the gospel is what I treasure most.  Keep up the good work and being the best mom I could ever ask for.

Speaking of moms, Nahir is a mom who is currently making the transition from married to single.  Her two kids are 7 and 4 years old and are little devious rascals.  I think I’ve said this before, but I really do think that Satan takes control of children’s bodies when the missionaries are teaching…. We got to actually teach Nahir for the first time in a place that was not in her hair studio!  The first time was super illegal!  We started the lesson at 9:30 (the time we are supposed to be in our pension) and got home at 10:30! haha.  But don’t worry we asked for permission!  We are teaching her the commandments to make sure she’s ready for her baptism.  She is so excited and knows that it’s going to be a good change in her life.  She even called her friends in Ushuia to come to her baptism in that moment!  We also got to teach her Sunday night in her house.  I was bummed to not be able to visit her with a member, because it would have been so great!  The whole time we planned on teaching the law of tithing again and right when we finished the opening prayer she asked us, “What do I do about TITHING?  I don’t know if I can pay it.”  BOOM! ready to help her resolve her doubts.  After explaining what tithing is used for and why we should pay it, focusing on the faith that is needed to show our gratitude to the Lord, we shared the scripture in 1 Nephi 17:3.  She loved it and knows that the Lord will provide for her and take care of her so she CAN keep the commandments of God.  She’s great.  I love her and hope and pray that she can come out of these trials stronger with the help of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
This week we had a zone meeting and talked a lot about the difference between conversion and commitment.  There are two types of ways to fulfill a calling.  One is through commitment or obligation and the other is through conversion.  When we are converted, our heart, might, and mind is in the work.  We do all that we can to fulfill the Lord’s will.  The Lord really does trust us as imperfect human beings to care for his children and what he wants us to do is in our power.  I love the scripture in Doctrine and Covenants that says that we should be “anxiously engaged in a good cause and do many things in their own free will” D&C 58:27-28.  We have the power to make things happen!  Let us all make good things happen this week!!!
Family, I loved talking to you.  I’m sorry if i said anything dumb or awkward.  The whole English thing is a little difficult right now.  It’s super trunky to say, but the next time I see your beautiful faces it will be Christmas time…. and in real life.  Thank you for your prayers and support and just for being my brothers and sisters and great people! haha!
Harper killed me with katy Perry!  EEg is going to have to come up with some big act next time haha.  Just kidding, I love my nieces!   They’re going to be total babes when they grow up:)
Love you!!
Hermana Carter
Leave a Reply

