“frijoles colorados”

20131118_001244Well, after a great conference weekend we had a pretty eventful week! So all I can say is, that missions have a never-ending cycle of being tired! I guess that’s life. Right?

Within 24 hours this week we got dumped twice! The first one was from Janeth.. OVER TEXT. The second one was from a cuban woman named Theresa and after she dumped us she fed us a plate full of beans! How rude huh?!
 
We’ve been trying to work with our less-active and recent converts more this transfer, and especially trying to get the members involved. We went to visit a lady who was baptized last year and hasn’t been coming back to church. She has been going through a lot and was super sad. We decided to visit her again and share Elder Holland’s talk from general conference with her. She said that we made her really happy and gave her the energy she needed. It’s so nice to be able to see your influence have an immediate impact on others here in the mission. We’re going to try really hard to get her and her family back to church so they can be sealed in the temple! Wouldn’t that be so cool!
 
She also taught us how to make flour tortillas! It was really hard but she said to come over again and we can make lunch with her. So when I come home I’ll make you some flour tortillas! They’re the best. 
 
This week I have been reading “Our Search for Happiness” by M. Russell Ballard. It’s a really cool book that explains the gospel in logical and simple terms. I was touched by his point of view of the Restoration of Christ’s Gospel. I never thought about Joseph Smith’s situation and how it could apply to us. Joseph had a simple question that he wanted answered to guide his life. Little did he know he was going to get such a huge response from our loving Heavenly Father. I was moved by his explanation in Joseph Smith History about his vision that says…

 “Why persecute me for telling the truth? I have actually seen a vision; and who am I that I can withstand God, or why does the world think to make me deny what I have actually seen? For I had seen a vision; I knew it, and I knew that God knew it, and I could not edeny it, neither dared I do it; at least I knew that by so doing I would offend God, and come under condemnation.”

 We are all searching for answers from our Heavenly Father, but what we have to do is stick to our witnesses as strongly as Joseph Smith. It doesn’t mean that we will not endure hardships but at the end of the day we can return to God and say that we personally did all we could to fulfill his will for us.  What a great feeling that will be.  We were inspired to teach this to the Chavez family to help them make commitments in response to the witnesses they had already received. Although they did not agree to be baptized, we finally got the concern that is on the families mind.  They are amazing and they really want to be ready to be baptized but they are held back by the tradition of their family.  Hopefully next time,  we will be able to help them build their faith that God will fulfill their righteous desires.
 
 
les amo muchisimo!!
 
Hermana Carter
Continuing the Carter traditional "Train Handshake"

Continuing the Carter traditional “Train Handshake”

Leave a Reply

