Skirts are cold!!!

Hello family!

Sorry I don’t have much time today but i’ll try to make this letter a good one.

Well one thing I have learned, is that the Lord has blessed me to acclimate to the crazy heat of Utah summers. But, now I’m having trouble acclimating to the frigid 40 degree weather #i’mgoingtodieinargentina #skirtsarecold!!!
There is already snow on the mountains making this girl a little trunky for the ski season, but it’s OK because I’ve got the spirit of the Lord with me and that’s all I need right?! ha!
 
This week I have been doing my Book of Mormon reading and I just happen to be reading in Ammon. (my favorite story) I love how amazing he is as a missionary, and how it says he was filled with the spirit of the Lord and could discern King Lamoni’s needs. That is something I’ve been trying to work on as a teacher. I sometimes feel like I trust in my own understanding and teach people what I think they should know instead of what they need to know. I had a long talk with my trainer Hermana McNelly about following the promptings of the spirit. She reassured me that I have the spirit with me because I’m worthy and willing to follow it. Later that day, we were out trying to contact some of our former investigators and I knew there was a member who lived in this neighborhood and asked my companions if we could go visit her. We showed up at Hermana Perez’s door to find out that she was making Argentine pastries to drop off to Janeth’s house and invite her to the Relief Society Broadcast the next day. Wow! She’s the sweetest. The moment I walked in I knew that we were supposed to be there. After spending some time with her and helping her with her cookies, we shared a little spiritual thought from this months Liahona about hastening the work. We thanked her for her great example of being a member missionary and that God really loved her and had her in his mind. She then started to cry and told us she was really grateful that we came. This experience was what I need that day to know that the Lord really is leading my work here in Layton, Utah. I know that I’m here for a reason and I have been blessed with the privilege to know these people and to truly LOVE them! 

My purpose as a missionary is to Invite other to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and his atonement, repentance, baptism, the gift of the holy ghost, and enduring to the end. I do this through teaching them the basic principles and doctrines of the gospel and inviting them to experience it. However, I feel that the most important part of this process is helping them communicate with their Heavenly Father and receive revelation personally. With out this they could never receive the fullness and endure to the end. I hope that as I teach, I can help people truly know for themselves that the gospel is true, not convince them or draaag them to the waters of baptism. Isn’t the gospel just awesome?!

This week my mom sent me an awesome package full of goodies for the kiddos to use during general conference! From bingo to connect the dots she had it all covered! Thanks mom for being the absolute cutest thing in the world!!!

Les quiero bastante, son los mejores 🙂
Leave a Reply

