“Cochina”

Well this week has been a roller coaster! It was probably the week I realized missionary work is real. ha ha not really, but this week was real life. We have so many amazing investigators that Satan just loves to mess with them. I know this is because they are on the verge of greatness, almost through the doors of baptism where they will be able to progress and benefit so much more from this restored gospel.

Last Monday we had an amazing lesson with the Chavez family. The spirit was almost tangible as we were there talking about the Proclamation to the Family, a document of revealed truth that the family has been an ordained social unit since before the world began. The great thing is is that they already live everything and more that this Proclamation teaches. I once heard a story about a very successful missionary in France who was asked how he found all these to follow Christ’s example of being baptized. He said “I imagined them in white”. I can see this family in white, sealed in the temple for all eternity. I can see the husband presiding on the stand as a bishop or stake president. I can see their children on missions sharing the gospel. It’s crazy how ready they are! However, there is something holding them back from receiving it all, and we can figure it out. We boldly asked them to pray if October 5th was the day that their Heavenly Father wanted them to get baptized. They accepted! But after they canceled two appointments we showed up at their house to visit them and to follow up. The mom replied and said “I have been praying this week, but, I haven’t asked specifically.” I was heartbroken! I know that fear has taken over and she doesn’t want to know the truth yet! I’ve been praying really fervently to know how I can help this family be eternal and I’m sure I will receive an answer just as they will about their baptism.

Even though we’ve had a mix of events like this happen this week, we sure have been happy. That’s something about missionary work that always get’s you through, when you’re working hard and bearing testimony of what you know is true, you are HAPPY. it’s weird.

McNelly is like my sister, she laughs at everything I say (which for those of you who know me… laughter makes me very happy)
She calls me cochina… it means nasty in Spanish. I find it endearing! ha! ha!. We have a CD of pop primary songs… and since I haven’t danced in a long while I could help but let loose in the Chevy Malibu. I figure one day the other two will join me but for now they just laugh haha.

Something that has helped me a lot these past few weeks, has been an experience I had from the Book of Mormon. I don’t know if you know this but… the Book of Mormon answers the questions of the soul. One day I was feeling kinda down about some things and I heard something tell me to read the Book of Mormon. Even though it was my P-day and I was just laying down to take my monthly nap, I got up immediately to read. I opened to Mosiah, Chapter 7, which talks about trusting in the Lord. The last verse, 33, talks about how we have to turn to the Lord, trust in Him, and serve Him with all diligence in mind. Only then will the Lord bring forth the blessings, IF IT BE HIS WILL. At that moment I realized that the Lord knows me better than I know myself and all I can do is work my very hardest and his will will be fulfilled. I hope that I do all that he requires of me so that I can be an instrument in His hands on this earth. I know this church is true and I’m thankful that I can testify that without a blinking of an eye to all those who will listen.IMG_0878[1]IMG_0874[1]

Leave a Reply

