Soy blanca, hay confianza?

This week has been, well, a week on the mish! so pretty good!!  There are sure a lot of changes going on in your neck of the woods! Stales I think you’re in my boundaries hahaha….
 
Anyways, I would like write about the fact that I have blonde hair and blue eyes, and in a Hispanic’s mind that means I can’t speak Spanish haha.  We met with Anabell again and she was having kind of a hard time.  She doesn’t really feel accepted by Americans so she is happily surprised that we are so kind to her.  She can speak pretty good English and tries to speak it to me (I thought this was because she wanted to practice, but it’s not).  She thinks I don’t know any Spanish at all!  She’ll be telling my comp Adorable about something, which I understand, and then say “You can explain to her, later tonight” How rude! haha.  Then on Sunday at church we greet the members who come in, and the members spoke Spanish to both of my comps and then said “Hi Sister” to me!  I don’t know if they’ll ever trust me with their language but I’m sure gonna try haha.
 
This week was tough.  A lot of our investigators were super busy, and contacting was a fail.  It’s the last week of summer and thus no one is home.  We did however get invited to a non member baby shower!  It was possibly the most awkward experience in my life.  The new mom’s mother-in-law is a member and wanted us to come to this surprise baby shower.  So we went, brought cookies and wanted to talk to some people… but none of the ladies really seemed interested in our friendship.  Turns out we were talking to the daughter-in-law’s Christian pastor and all her church friends!  Then to top off the awkwardness, the mother-in-law wanted us to sing a hymn.  So in the middle of the party we were forced to serenade the daughter-in-law.  So tuerpe.
 
On a spiritual note 🙂  This week our mission started a mission goal to read a Book of Mormon studying a certain topic, like Elder Bednard.  Our topic is the Atonement!  Which will be awesome in the Book of Mormon because Christ is all over every page. L OVE IT!  I’m bummed that I have to do it in English but it’s all good.  All you have to do is read 6 pages a day and you’ll be done in 90 days.  At home 6 pages would test my attention span but since being on the mish, I am sad when my hour of personal study is over.  In a lot of our lessons today, we spent time in 3 Nephi 11 with our investigators.  This chapter is awesome and always invites the spirit.  There’s one part where all the people feel the prints in His side and His hands and feet.  I thought that would be so awesome to know my Savior that well, to feel that sacrifice physically.  However, I realized that we can feel that relationship just as strong if we FULLY utilize the atonement.  Every mistake, pain, sin in our lives can be overcome through Him.  Then we will know Him.  Just as the Nephites knew Him then!  The Atonement, the solution to almost everything.  It’s absolutely amazing.
 
Well my family, that is just another report from your favorite Hermana.  I’m so grateful I’m out here serving and growing as much as I have.  I love you all so much.
Also members couldn’t get back in time to feed us. They left us a 100 dollar bill. Utah mission life is real.
$100???

$100???

Leave a Reply

